Angry French press, “Messi’s second goal is right to be canceled!”

Reporter Park Joo-seong = The French press was angry.

Argentina succeeded in winning the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar World Cup final held at Lusail Stadium at 0:00 (Korean time) on the 19th after a close match that went to France in a penalty shootout.

Messi also played a decisive role in this match. In the 23rd minute of the first half, Di María calmly resolved a penalty kick, and in the second half of extra time, the goalkeeper kicked the ball back and pushed it back to score a valuable goal.

However, the French media are expressing their discomfort over this goal. It is the opinion that this goal by Messi should have been cancelled. Why.

French media ‘L’Equipe’ said, “According to the rules, Messi’s second goal should not have been recognized by the referee. Argentine substitutes were on the field before the ball crossed the goal line. This is strictly prohibited behavior.”안전놀이터

In fact, Article 3, Paragraph 9 of the Football Rules states, ‘If after a goal has been scored and before play is restarted, the referee becomes aware that there were additional people on the field, the referee must not concede a goal. If the extra person is a player, substitute, sent-off player or official of the team that scored the goal, play must be restarted with a direct free kick from where the extra person was.’

The French media is arguing for the cancellation of Messi’s goal based on this provision. However, the game has already ended and the referee at the time continued the game as it was, so there seems to be no possibility of changing the outcome of the game.